April 25, 2014

McCormick Center Founder Named President of Council for Professional Recognition

by McCormick Center

WHEELING – April 7, 2014. Paula J. Bloom, Ph.D., founder of the McCormick Center, has been named President of the Council for Professional Recognition. Her term began in February and concludes February 2017.

“Recognized among the Who’s Who of experts on early childhood leadership and program management, Dr. Bloom brings a wide breadth of experience and enthusiasm to the Council’s efforts to reshape itself as an early care and education thought leader,” said Valora Washington, Ph.D., Council chief executive officer.

The Council for Professional Recognition is a Washington, D.C.-based non-profit organization that promotes the performance and recognition of early childhood educators. It administers a unique teacher credentialing process which results in the award of the Child Development Associate (CDA) Credential™.

Dr. Bloom holds a joint appointment as the Michael W. Louis Endowed Chair of the McCormick Center for Early Childhood Leadership and professor in the Department of Early Childhood Education at National Louis University. She received her master’s and doctorate from Stanford University. Dr. Bloom has taught preschool and kindergarten, designed and directed a child care center, and served as administrator of a campus laboratory school. She is a frequent keynote speaker at state, national, and international early childhood conferences and serves as consultant to professional organizations and state agencies.

Dr. Bloom and the board recently ratified the Council’s 2014-2016 Strategic Plan, which involves an emphasis on improving customer service, expanding communications, building partnerships, incorporating technology and assuring product quality and expansion.

“This is indeed an exciting time to serve on the board of directors and work with Dr. Washington and her team in achieving the Council’s mission of improving the performance and recognition of early childhood professionals.”

Dr. Bloom is joined on the board by Dr. Washington, Board Secretary Linda Espinosa, professor emeritus, University of Missouri, Columbia; Past Board President Dwayne Crompton; Edward Greene, senior educational consultant, TeachScape.com and Cito USA; Ernest D. Washington, professor, School of Education, University of Massachusetts; Victoria R. Fu, professor, College of Human Resources and Education, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University; Yasmina S. Vinci, executive director, National Head Start Association, and Yolanda Garcia, director, WestED E3 Institute, Excellence in Early Education.

Tags: National